Dance Studies Association 2018 Conference
Contra: Dance & Conflict

July 5-8, 2018
University of Malta
Valletta, Malta

On July 12, 2017, after four consecutive joint conferences and two years of intensive planning and organizational collaboration, the Congress on Research in Dance (founded 1969) and the Society for Dance History Scholars (founded 1978) successfully merged into the Dance Studies Association (DSA), registered as a not-for-profit organization in the state of New York.  So, while DSA is “new,” it is grounded in a long history of dance scholarship and organizational infrastructure.

DSA is committed to advancing the field of dance through research, performance, and publishing and to providing a home for dance scholars, educators and artists where we can collectively support dance advocacy and access, challenge and exercise our thinking about dance, and support each other’s development throughout the career span.  DSA aspires to be a gathering place to facilitate collegiality and contribute to the advancement of the field.

DSA works with Cambridge University Press to publish Dance Research Journal, one of the premier journals in the field, as well as with University of Wisconsin Press on the monograph series Studies in Dance History.  It holds annual and special topics conference, and held its inaugural conference under the DSA name at The Ohio State University October 19-22, 2017.

Look for DSA’s new website in January 2018 at:

Until then, please use the email addresses listed on this website to contact DSA through the management company (AEG).

Dance Studies Association Board of Directors

Anne Flynn, University of Calgary, President
Ann Cooper Albright, Oberlin College, Secretary
Hannah Kosstrin, The Ohio State University, Treasurer
Jens Giersdorf, Marymount Manhattan College 
Hanna Järvinen, University of the Arts, Helsinki, Vice President for Conference
Anusha Kedhar, University of California, Riverside
Rebekah Kowal, University of Iowa, Vice President for Awards and Prizes
Susan Manning, Northwestern University
Ray Miller, Appalachian State University, Vice President of Professional Development
Raquel Monroe, Columbia College, Chicago
Kin-Yan Szeto, Appalachian State University

Dance Studies Association
7044 S. 13th Street, Oak Creek, WI 53154

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software